Robert Birming

Bogus Operandi

In my previous post, Boring Text, I wrote about my mixed feelings about blogging in English. On one hand, I find it challenging to express my thoughts exactly as I want. On the other hand, I enjoy the fun and cool options and advantages that come with writing in English.

Today, I continued thinking about it...

Maybe this returning “I will only write in Swedish” idea is just an excuse to avoid the fear of failing, of being unread and uninteresting? If I write in Swedish, my blog would naturally have fewer viewers, making it a “safer option” in that respect.

This leads to the next question:

If it's true that I'm really just writing the blog to express my thoughts and feelings, why do I even care whether people read it or not? I should be happy with it, even if I'm the only reader.

So, perhaps this “I'm mainly blogging for myself” is just a facade, a bogus operandi, to quote the Swedish band The Hives.

I don’t know.

On the other hand, if it’s all true, perhaps writing openly about this embarrassing fear is an act of fearlessness.

Maybe.