Robert Birming

Embracing the Unexpected

Yesterday, R. Scott Jones shared his latest project, Blog Prompts. I decided to give it a try and picked the following suggestion:

Write a blog post about whether you lean more towards being a planner, or would rather "go with the flow," and why.

I'm definitely a "go with the flow" person. I think planning can be really boring. It doesn't matter if it's a new web project or a trip to a new destination.

That said, spontaneity isn't always a recipe for success. Sometimes I wish I had a bit more of a planner in me. But if forced to choose, I'd pick go with the flow every day of the week.

Ten years ago, I took a sabbatical and traveled around Thailand. I never booked accommodation in advance. Instead, I rented a scooter and explored the area until I found a place that felt right. Sometimes it was less successful, but overall, it was a great adventure and invaluable experience.

When it comes to the 'why' part of the prompt, I think it's because things rarely go exactly as planned anyway.

I'm not saying you should never plan. And I'm not saying spontaneity is better. We're all different, and for me, going with the flow works best.

Whatever works for you, stay curious.

PS. If you're looking for more inspiration to boost your blogging, check out the Blog Inspiration page.