Robert Birming

Re: Finding my Blogging Voice

Hello fellow blogger,

I found your blog and the "Finding my Blogging Voice" post through Bear's 'Most Recent' feed and felt like writing a reply.

It's wonderful to see that you got your first post out there. A good and interesting one too, that many bloggers can relate to. Now that you're up and running, the hardest part is over.

I've been in a similar situation myself and understand how you feel. My advice is to not overthink it and just keep writing and posting, writing and posting, writing and posting...

I always find myself thinking I could do better, write better, be better.

We can all do better, and the only way to achieve it is by consistently publishing content. Plus, what we consider our "best writing" today, will be replaced by "even better" soon. Looking back at what I thought was my "best writing ever" five years ago, I wouldn't even publish it today.

Besides, we're terrible at being our own critics. We'll post texts we believe are outstanding, only to see them go by unnoticed. And we'll post texts we hesitate to share, which end up being our most read ever.

Blogging is like a school without final exams, that’s what makes it so valuable and rewarding.

Just keep on blogging and never skip class.

Good luck!


Update

The original post by "Thoughtless Ramblings" made ripples in cyberspace. Another great example of the beauty of blogging. A first post was all it took...

Blog posts

Mastodon

I had a hard time finding my voice. I always felt like I needed to perform for someone with my writing. Took me a while to feel comfortable just writing for myself and to get stuff out of my head. And I think the way I see it now is like I'm doing an impromptu presentation and some people might stop and listen. — Juan Villela