Robert Birming

Phriday: Let's Photo Reflect Together

Abandoned shoes

Abandoned shoes

I had an idea to post a #phriday post on Fridays: a photo and my reflections on it. Then I realized it doesn't have to be limited to just me.

Everyone will have their own associations about the picture with the abandoned shoes. It would be fun and interesting to take part of this wider perspective. If the photo above sparks your inspiration and you write something, contact me, and I'll link to your text.

Here's my first ever Phriday reflection:

The photo above was taken during my last visit to Chiang Mai in northern Thailand. I love that city and have come back almost every year since I ditched the desk for dreams some ten years ago.

One thing I always think about when I come to Thailand, no matter where in the country I am, is the Thai pace of life. It's a very relaxed and pleasant pace. Partly, of course, due to the warmer weather, but it's more to it than just that.

There's a natural, inherent calm in everyone you meet. Why stress? Things get done anyway.

In the same way that I think about the calmness when I get there, I always think about the stress as soon as I'm back home in Sweden. Stress away, I think to myself with a smile. Twenty-four hours later, I'm rushing at the same pace as everyone else.

It's hard not to get carried away, unfortunately. But I try to remind myself. The whole existence becomes so much more pleasant when every step is not just a means to an end.

#phriday