Robert Birming

Purposeful Living

Today was my first day back at work after being on sick leave for two weeks with Covid. It feels really good to be back! One of the things that makes it feel good to be back is that it gives me a sense of purpose.

It's not like I have the world's most important job. I work with house inspections and, of course, all of these customers' houses will still be standing whether I visit them or not. But I still fill some kind of function, and knowing that is rewarding.

Regardless of whether we are kings or cleaners, I think it's important that we feel that we have a role in life, that we have a purpose and contribute in one way or another – no matter how small.

It's not about what we do but how we perceive our actions. The key to contentment is to continue living a life that feels meaningful and purposeful.