Robert Birming

Succession is the way to success

One of the houses I visited today had what potentially could be the dreaded dry-rot fungus Serpula lacrymans.

As a result, I had to collect samples to be sent to a laboratory for analysis. This type of assignment occurs only a few times a year. Consequently, it always requires extra time and effort.

That's the thing with tasks we don't perform regularly — they become challenging and tiring. Things we do on a regular basis, though, we master with ease. Regularity fosters skill and confidence. This principle applies to areas beyond our professional lives as well.

If I wrote as infrequently as I send samples for analysis, my writing would suffer significantly. It would be an uphill battle every time. The urge to avoid writing would loom over me like a dark cloud.

"It doesn't feel right to write today. I have so many other duties to attend to. Yeah, tomorrow is a much better day."

When tomorrow arrives, it's the same story with the same excuse. Like the sign in the bar promising 'Free beer tomorrow'.

If we aim to improve and see results, there's only one path: show up and do the work. Today, tomorrow, the day after tomorrow...

Succession is the way to success.