Robert Birming

Waiting for Google

Google Pixel 9

Speaking of the importance of interests, technology has always been one of mine. Today feels like Christmas Eve for some of us tech enthusiasts as Google hosts its annual Made by Google event, where they unveil their latest innovations (even though most is already known, as always).

Personally, I've always been an Apple hardware user but prefer Google's software. This year might be the first time I consider switching to Google hardware as well.

I'm impressed by their design and functionality. It's a refreshing blend of playfulness and intelligence, a rare find in tech. Also, as someone living in Sweden, I think it's a cool bonus that a Swede is "The Woman Behind Google's Design."

We try to bring [optimism] to life in our products in a way that isn't childish, but maintains a premium feel while still being fun.

I believe they've nailed it lately. It's usability and enjoyment packaged together.

Whether I'll actually make the leap from iPhone to Pixel remains to be seen. Either way, I'll be glued to the screen in a couple of hours. And the same goes for Apple's event next month.

PS. If you appreciate technology, user-friendliness, and good design, check out the Made by Google podcast. It's always engaging, no matter your preferred brand.